vThings Forums
[SOLVED] Option to disable auto update - Printable Version

+- vThings Forums (http://forum.vair-monitor.com)
+-- Forum: vThings (http://forum.vair-monitor.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: vAir Monitor (CO2, Dust, Tempereature, etc..) (http://forum.vair-monitor.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: [SOLVED] Option to disable auto update (/showthread.php?tid=59)



[SOLVED] Option to disable auto update - baz123 - 02-03-2017

Please provide an option for autoupdate such that a user can decide to enable autoupdate rather than any new firmware automatically being pushed out.

The configuration app could tell you there is a new update and ask if you wish to update.


RE: Option to disable auto update - Ed Davies - 02-13-2017

I'd like to second this request. Two reasons:

1) as has been mentioned on another thread, if a new version breaks something it would be good to be able to go back to an older version until it's fixed (which needs the older version to be new enough to be able disable auto-update, of course) and

2) for now Vladimir is actively working on this project and it's normally valuable to get the new version but maybe one day he'll take his eye off it for whatever reason so:

  a) checks for new versions would be a bit of a waste of bandwidth and, worse,

  b) if the domain ever lapses and somebody unscrupulous picks it up they'll have a ready made botnet behind people's routers/firewalls.


RE: Option to disable auto update - admin - 02-17-2017

yeah.. this is right
i've started doing this imporvements in the latest FW.. i will release it in the next couple of days
also in one of the next updates i will add more functionality to secure the device and prevent it from being a too easy target


RE: Option to disable auto update - admin - 02-19-2017

i finally managed to fix this
some details are here
http://forum.vair-monitor.com/showthread.php?tid=63


RE: Option to disable auto update - Ed Davies - 02-20-2017

Excellent, thanks.

(Second of my temp/humidity sensors arrived this morning so thanks for that, too. The button blib on the second box I ordered for my CO₂ sensor, to separate the temp sensor to reduce self heating, is a bit thick and holds the button down permanently so I'll need to grind that off with a Dremel-like tool when I get round to it.)


RE: [SOLVED] Option to disable auto update - admin - 02-20-2017

aaaaaahhh yeah
at some point of time in the beginning, i switched the switches, they come in different flavours of <1mm high button, 1 mm, 3, 5, 7 , etc..
and honestly- i didn't notice the difference between the <1mm and 1+ mm until i started to assemble the boxes, and saw that in some of them the button doesn't fit
and indeed- for the units i had left with the higher button i was grinding the boxes.. as they popped up just occasionally
so there is a chance the one you had was with the higher button and my new boxes are adjusted for the smaller button


RE: [SOLVED] Option to disable auto update - Ed Davies - 02-20-2017

Yep, thought it might be something like that.


RE: [SOLVED] Option to disable auto update - baz123 - 02-23-2017

(02-03-2017, 03:46 PM)baz123 Wrote: Please provide an option for autoupdate such that a user can decide to enable autoupdate rather than any new firmware automatically being pushed out.

The configuration app could tell you there is a new update and ask if you wish to update.

Excellent to see this changed.  Cheers.